Bypolls: TMC, Congress, RJD win; BJP pulls blank
Home INDIA Bypolls: TMC, Congress, RJD win; BJP pulls blank
INDIA - POLITICS - April 16, 2022

Bypolls: TMC, Congress, RJD win; BJP pulls blank

The Trinamool Congress on Saturday achieved a perfect victory, winning Asansol Lok Sabha and Ballygunge in West Bengal, while Congress and RJD voted for constituencies in Maharashtra and Bihar in the elections, respectively, leaving the BJP vacant.

Congressional candidate Yasoda Verma has a clear lead over BJP’s Komal Janghel in the polls at the Khairagarh meeting in Chhattisgarh, where the census is taking place.

In West Bengal, TMC film actor turned politician Shatruhan Sinha beat BJP’s Agnimitra Paul by 3 03 209 votes in Asansol. The BJP won the Lok Sabha 2019 election with 1.97 lakh votes when Babul Supriyo, then in the BJP, defeated Moon Moon Sen of TMC.

Suprio, who was nominated by TMC from the prestigious Ballygunge constituency, defeated Saira Shah Halim of CPI(M) by 20,228 votes. BJP’s Kia Ghosh was only able to garner 13,220 votes.

The April 12 election was necessary because Minister of State Subrata Mukherjee, who represented Ballygunge, died last year.

The Minister General of West Bengal and Supreme Leader of the TMC Mama Banerjee thanked the voters of Asansol and Ballygunge for giving the TMC candidates an important mandate.

“I sincerely thank the constituents of the Asansol Parliamentary Constituency and the Ballygunge Assembly Constituency for providing an important mandate to the AITC party candidate,” he tweeted.

“We believe this is a sincere gift from our people, Shubho Nababarsho, to our Ma Mati Manush organization. Congratulations to the voters for restoring our faith,” he added.

At the Asansol Shotgun, Sinha said he “thanks the people of Asansol and Mamata Banerjee for this win”.

US BJP President Sukanta Majumdar said there was a general trend for the ruling party across the state to win by-elections.

In a boost to the work of Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) ruling Maharashtra, Congress won the poll in Kolhapur’s Northern Assembly constituency and retained the seat, beating the BJP by more than 18,000 votes.

MVA candidate Jayashri Jadhav received 96,176 votes while BJP’s Satyajit Kadam received 77,426 votes.

The by-election was canceled due to the death of MLA Congressman Chandrakant Jadhav due to Covid in December 2021.

Jadhav thanks voters and says all three MVA members are working together to win.

Maharashtra Congress Chair Nana Patole described the party’s victory as “a victory for progressive thinking”.

Opposition RJD in Bihar took over the Dewan Bocahan seat from the ruling NDA, with its candidate beating the BJP candidate by more than 35,000 votes.

RJD candidate Amar Paswan, whose father Musafir Paswan needed a by-election, received 82,116 votes while his closest BJP rival Bebe Kumari received only 45,353 votes.

State Minister Mukesh Sahani’s exiled Vikassheel Insaan (VIP) party, whose ticket Musafir Paswan won a seat in 2020, came in third with 29,671 votes.

VIP was part of the NDA until about a month ago.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Can’t entertain plea at behest of political party: SC on plea by CPI(M) against demolition in Shaheen Bagh

NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court Monday refused to entertain a plea filed by CPI(M) again…